

Republic of the Philippines Department of Social Welfare and Development

Batasan Pambansa Complex, Constitution Hills
Quezon City
Telephone No. 931-8101 to 07

MEMORANDUM CIRCULAR

No. <u>6</u> Series of 2005

SUBJECT

: Internal Rules and Regulations for the Adoption of the Four-Day Workweek Pursuant to Administrative Order No. 117. s. 2005

1.0 Purpose

This Memorandum Circular is being issued to prescribe the Internal Rules and Regulations for the implementation of the four-day workweek pursuant to Administrative Order No. 117, series of 2005, of the Office of the President, the primary objective of which is to support the government's effort of energy conservation.

2.0 General Guidelines

- 2.1 Effective April 4 to May 31, 2005, the following Offices/Bureaus/Services/Units of the Department of Social Welfare and Development shall adopt the four-day workweek, from 7:30 A.M. to 6:30 P.M., Monday to Thursday, in line with the austerity measures being undertaken by the government:
 - 2.1.1 Social Technology Bureau
 - 2.1.2 Policy Development and Plans Bureau
 - 2.1.3 Standards Bureau
 - 2.1.4 Social Welfare Institutional Development Bureau
 - 2.1.5 Human Resource Management and Development Service
 - 2.1.6 Legal Service
 - 2.1.7 Administrative Service, except General Services Division which shall adopt a scheme as provided in item 2.3 of this Circular.
 - 2.1.8 BAC Secretariat
 - 2.1.9 Finance Management Service, except staff assigned for CIU needs, who shall be available on Fridays
 - 2.1.10 National Council for the Welfare of Disabled Persons
- 2.2 In view however, of the unique nature of their work, the following Bureaus/Services/Units shall be exempted from the four-day workweek:
 - 2.2.1 Program Management Bureau
 - 2.2.2 Disaster Response Operations, Monitoring & Information Center (DROMIC)
 - 2.2.3 Crisis Intervention Unit (CIU)
 - 2.2.4 National Relief Operation Center (NROC)
 - 2.2.5 KALAHI-CIDSS: KKB Operations
 - 2.2.6 Early Childhood Development (ECD)
 - 2.2.7 Medical/Dental Clinic

- 2.3 The following Service/Units shall also adopt the four-day workweek but shall maintain a skeletal force on Fridays, which they shall submit to the HRMDS:
 - 2.3.1 Management Information System Service
 - 2.3.2 General Services Division
 - 2.3.3 Social Marketing Service
 - 2.3.4 Executive Offices
 - 2.3.5 Inter-country Adoption Board (With skeletal force on Mondays)
- 2.4 A member of the EXECOM shall be designated as Officer of the Day every Friday by the Secretary.
- 2.5 Offices/Units providing frontline services and field work to include Field Offices, Centers and Institutions and those involved in relief and rehabilitation operations shall continue to adopt their regular work schedule.
- 2.6 In general, Field Offices are exempted from the four-day work-week. However, considering the unique situations in different Regions, the Regional Director shall have the discretion to allow some staff or units to adopt the four-day workweek taking a good balance between exigency of the service and the energy conservation measures.
- 2.7 The Flexi-time schedule shall be suspended for those covered by the four-day workweek.
- 2.8 The staff of Offices/Bureaus/Services/Units which are exempted from the four-day workweek shall adopt either the full flexitime or their regular work schedule in case they are exempted from full flexi-time, i.e they are adopting a shifting work schedule.
- 2.9 Pursuant to existing CSC rules, one day leave corresponds to eight hours. This however, is based on a five-day workweek. For employees adopting the four-day workweek, one day leave shall correspond to 10 hours.
- 2.10 In the Central Office, flag raising ceremony every Monday shall start at 8:00 A.M. Field Offices may set their own time for their flag raising ceremony.
- 2.11 Shuttle bus service at the Central Office shall be revised accordingly for the duration of this work schedule.
- 2.12 Offices/Bureaus/Services/Units providing skeletal force on **Fridays** shall arrange their work stations in such a way that staff rendering service on **said days** shall be in one working area of their office to ensure energy conservation.

3.0 Provisionary Clause

Cases not covered by this Memorandum Circular shall be referred to the Office of the Undersecretary for GASSG for resolution.

This Order takes effect April 4, 2005 and cease on June 1, 2005.

Issued in Quezon City this 31st day of March 2005.

CORAZON JULIANO SOLIMAN

Secretary